The Friedberg Jewish Community Center is proud of our Early Childhood Centers’ high quality programming and excellent staff. Our programs, serving children birth to 5 years old and their families, are licensed by the New York State Office of Children and Family Services. Each of our three Early Childhood Centers is designed to facilitate the growth of children physically, socially and cognitively. Our Judaic and secular holiday and enrichment programs add an extra dimension to your child’s preschool experience.

Our Philosophy

As leaders in the Early Childhood community, our year-round programs embrace developmentally appropriate practices and utilize differentiated teaching styles within our curriculum.

We understand that each child has an individual learning style as well as a personal timetable for development. In our child centered classrooms, individual interests are identified, and activities are planned that give each child an opportunity for exploration and self-direction. Our children acquire social competence and the skills they need to succeed as lifelong learners.

 

Oceanside

Harriet & Robert H. Heilbrunn Early Childhood Center

15 Neil Court, Oceanside, NY 11572 | Main Phone Number: 766-4341

Helene Nelson, (516) 634-4167, Director of Early Childhood, hnelson@friedbergjcc.org

Paula Wall, (516) 634-4165, Co-Director of Early Childhood, pwall@friedbergjcc.org

David H. Sonabend Long Beach Branch

Abraham Sonabend Early Childhood Center

310 National Boulevard, Long Beach, NY 11561 | 431-2929

Roni Kleinman, (516) 431-2929, V.P. for Long Beach Services, rkleinman@friedbergjcc.org

Jill Gartland, (516) 431-2929, Co-Coordinator of Early Childhood & Coordinator of Bright Beginnings, jgartland@friedbergjcc.org

Jill Knudsen, (516) 431-2929, Early Childhood Coordinator, jknudsen@friedbergjcc.org

Tami Bainlardi, (516) 431-2929, School Age Program Coordinator, tbainlardi@friedbergjcc.org

 

Merrick/Bellmore Branch

Stacey Dawn Rosenberg Pre-school of the Merrick Jewish Centre

225 Fox Boulevard, Merrick, NY 11566 | (516) 379-9386

Ellen Hoffman, (516) 379-9386, V.P. for Merrick/Bellmore Services, ehoffman@friedbergjcc.org

Laura Gilady, (516) 379-9386, Asst. Director for Merrick/Bellmore Services, lgilady@friedbergjcc.org 

 


Bright Beginnings Through the JCC

Is your child eligible for speech, occupational therapy, physical therapy or counseling services?

If the above applies to your child or if you believe your child may need services, we can help.

Bright Beginnings is an initiative of the JCC —offering programs, services and support for families with children who have special needs.

We have licensed therapists who provide no-cost services to children (ages 3 and above) who have been approved through their school district’s preschool special education program.

We offer services in our therapy gym, our therapy bus, the Oceanside and Merrick sites, your home or other school settings.

Your child does not have to attend the JCC preschool to receive services.

For more information, contact Jill Gartland, Bright Beginnings Coordinator, at (516) 431-2929 or jgartland@friedbergjcc.org